Eight arrested for power theft


BIRATNAGAR, Feb 15: A joint team from the Nepal Electricity Authority, Biratnagar and the District Police Office, Morang on Wednesday night arrested eight persons on charge of theft of electricity. They were taken under control from Katahari Rural Municipality-6 in the district. 

The arrestees—local residents Jiten Sardar, Ananda Sardar, Dilip Rajbamshi, Nitilal Rajbamshi, Jit Narayan Sardar, Pahari Sardar, Mahendra Sardar and Dharmendra Sardar—were found stealing electricity through hooking during a patrol by the joint team .

They have been kept at the DPO for investigations.