7th Nepal Open Amateur Golf Championship 2017 Tashi Tsering wins on a play-off


KATHMANDU: Tashi Tsering won the Nepal Amateur Open Golf Championship in playoff at the par-72 Gokarna Golf Club on Thursday. Tashi defeated Sukra Bahadur Rai in the first extra hole to claim the title.

The 54 hole national amateur championship was decided in playoff after Tashi and Sukra were tied at three-over 219 after the regulation play. Tashi carded one-under 71 and Sukra scored one-over 73. Wanchen Dhondup finished third after scoring one-over 73 on the final round for total four-over 220.

In playoff, Tashi’s tee-shot ended seven feet from the hole whereas Sukra missed the green. When Sukra was unable to sink from outside the green Tashi ball found the cup for a birdie and victory.  Earlier, Sukra missed a birdie from eight feet on the 54th hole to lose a chance to seal the victory.

Tanka Bahadur Karki shot tournament best for day with three-under 69 for a total of seven-over 223 to be on the fourth place. Overnight leader Shiva Kumar Majhi had a disastrous day, he shot eight-over 80 for a total of nine-over 225 to be tied on the fifth place with Tsendra Dorji (76) of Bhutan and Md. Shomrat Sikder (74) of Bangladesh.

Earlier team Nepal B represented by Sukra Bahadur Rai and Shiva Kumar Majhi had lifted the team event trophy with the score of 291. Team Bangladesh represented by Mohammad Shah Alam and Mohammad Shomrat Sikder finished second in the team event with the score of 302.

The best scorer’s of each day were awarded, Hridesh Kumar Singh (71), Sukra Bahadur Rai (72) and Tanka Bahadur Karki (69) for first first, second and final day respectively.

The best player on age category (16 and under) was Tenzing Tsering with 228. Subash Ghising finished second with 249. On the sidelines of the tournament 23 senior golfers (age 50 & above) played a competition over 9 holes. Rabendra Raj Pandey was winner with 18 points.

NGA President Madhukar Yakthumba, , Advisor Gen(Rtd) Pyar Jung Thapa, Vice President Prachanda Bahadur Shrestha, Gen Secretary Tashi Ghale, President of Kathmandu, Kaski and Sunsrari District Golf associations Madan Rana, Maj. LP Gurung and Maj. DB Rai gave away the prizes.

Total of 48 players took part in the tournament from Bangladesh, Bhutan and Nepal. 30 Players made the cut for the final round.