Shakya wins Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal

Purna Shakya carded four-under 68 nett to win the eighth edition of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at Gokarna Golf Club. Athma Ram Simkhada finished second with the score of even-par 72 on the count back. Four players, Athma, Babu Sherpa. Satya Rai and Dhurba Thapa were tied. Dhurba Thapa came third on the count back. SSP (Retd) Rajendra Shrestha took the best gross trophy after carding seven-over 79 to win the best gross. Mayanka Dahal scored three-over 75 to win the junior title.

Total of 39 players took part in the tournament. sponsored by Surya Nepal Pvt. Ltd. Executive committee member of Gokarna Golf Club Phintso Ongdi Lama gave away the prizes to the winners.The tournament was played under stroke play format with full handicap.

10 medal rounds played till the month of December. On each medal round top 5 gross scores, Top 10 nett scores and top 5 juniors will be awarded points. First place in nett category will earn 200 points, Runner up will receive 130 points and 90 points for third place, 70 points for fourth place and 60 points for fifth place sixth, seventh, eighth, ninth and tenth position will receive 50, 40,30,20 &10 points  respectively.

In the gross category the top five scorers will earn points 50, 30, 20, 15 & 10 respectively. Similarly top three scorers in junior category will earn points 50,30 & 20 in order.

After 10 medal rounds, top 40 scorers of nett category and top 10 of gross and junior category shall qualify for their category of club championships. However they must participate in six events out of 10 to qualify. The final of club championship will be played over 2 rounds in January and February 2017.

Leaders on Gross category after sixth Edition

T1. Vijay Shrestha Einhaus – 115 pts

T1. SSP (Retd) Rajendra Shrestha 115 pts

T3. Jigmay Dongstetsang – 110 pts

T3. Tendi Sherpa – 110 pts

5. Prithivi Malla – 100 pts

Leaders on Nett category after sixth edition

1. Jigmay Dongstetsang – 460 pts

2. Dhruba Thapa – 410 pts

3. Tendi Sherpa- 380 pts

4. Athma Ram Simkhada – 290 pts

5. Lt. Gen (retd) KNS Thapa – 240 pts

5. Phintso Ongdi Lama – 210 pts

Leaders on Junior Category after sixth edition

1. Devasri Rana – 230 pts

2. Mayanka Dahal – 140 pts

T3. Tenzin Yoden Lama – 110 pts

T3. Arnav Shah – 110 pts