Faldo Series Nepal Championship, Sukra, Tenzing and Sifat Qualify for finale


KATHMANDU, September 15:  Sukra Bahadur Rai won the Faldo Series Nepal Championship here at the par-72 Gokarna Golf Club on Thursday. Overnight leader Sukra shot even-par 72 for a total of one-under 215 for victory, he had basically no competition on age category 17-21, Yubraj Bhujel came second with the score of 232, he produced two-over 74 card on the final day.

Tenzing Tsering, who was seven-shots behind India’s Aryaan Kumar shot even-par 72, to win on age category 12-16. Tenzing scored three-under 33 on the front nine, whereas Aryaan had a forgettable six-over 42. On the back nine, Tenzing scored three-over 39 however Aryaan made further mistakes and shot five-over 41. Aryaan finished second in the category with the score of 234.

In the girls category India’s Sifat Kaur Alag scored five-over 77 today for a total of 20-over 236 to win over Pratima Sherpa by huge margin. Pratima scored 14-over 86 today for a total score of 260.

The winner of each of those categories, Sukra, Tenzing and Sifal have earned  themselves places in the 11th Faldo Series Asia Grand Final, to be hosted by Faldo at Laguna Lăng Cô in Danang, Vietnam, in March, 2017. Honorable Minister for Youth and Sports Daljit Sripali, president of Nepal Golf Association among others gave away the prizes to the winners.

The event organized by Nepal Golf Associal and Gokarna Forest Resort is 54 holes tournament. Total of 25 juniors from age 12-21 are taking part in the tournament. Supported by The R&A and endorsed by the Asian Tour and the Asia Pacific Golf Confederation, the 2016-17 Faldo Series Asia campaign stretches over 11 months.

As well as two events in China, India and Thailand, championships will be staged in Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Chinese-Taipei, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam.

Recognised as the only global amateur series for boys and girls, the Faldo Series was established in 1996, expanding to Asia in 2006. Today, 40 Faldo Series tournaments take place in 30-plus countries worldwide, touching more than 7,000 golfers each year. Past winners include Tseng Ya-ni and Rory McIlroy, both multiple Major winners.