Indian Ambassador’s Cup Golf Tournament 2016  wins Tashi Dong

Kathmandu March 5:Tashi Dong scored four-over gross to accumulate 40 stableford gross points to win the gross category of the Indian Ambassador’s Cup Golf Tournament here at Gokarna Forest Resort today. Best Gross being the main prize– and with one player-one prize rule– Tashi, three handicap golfer opted to take the gross prize even though he had the best nett for the day (43 points). Tashi scored bogey free round making birdies on hole six, 10, 12 and 18 and all pars to register four-under par.

Indian Ambassador's Cup Golf Tournament 2016  wins Tashi Dong
Indian Ambassador’s Cup Golf Tournament 2016  wins Tashi Dong

Kanchan Basnyat got the best nett trophy. Kanchan playing with eight handicap scored 42 points, he also scored a hole-in-one on par 3 fifth hole and got a special prize. He scored made bogeys on eighth and fifteenth hole and double-bogey on second hole but with the help of hole-in-one on the fifth and all pars to register two-over gross score.

Ang Dorjee Sherpa scored 37 points and finished runner-up nett on the count back after being tied with Col. Bikash Shah. Ang Dorjee scored 18 on the back nine whereas Col. Bikash got 17. Elizabeth Schapendonk was the best lady golfer with 30 points, and Rekha Ghimire finished second with 28 points. Col Bikash Shah won the best front nine score award with 20 points. Similarly Kishan Agrawal won the best back nine score award with 19 points.

Rene Vijay Einhaus bagged longest drive, Erik Anders Henell won the straightest drive, Dr. Niranjan Sharma got closest to the pin, Capt Norbu Sherpa received most birdies prize with three birdies and SSP Rajendra Shrestha won most pars award with 10 pars.

Total of 71 golfers took part organized by embassy of India, Kathmandu Nepal. The event was played on a stableford format with 3/4 handicap (maximum handicap allowance for tournament was 18 for men and 24 for ladies).

Indian Ambassador Ranjith Rae, Minister for Tourism Culture, Tourism and Culture Anand Pokhrel, Chief of Army Staff Gen Rajendra Chhetri, President of Gokarna Golf Club Suhrid Ghimire and Captain Joseph Nathan gave away the prizes to the winners of the tournament.