Surya & Co win Surya Nepal Eastern Open Pro-AM

DHARAN, December 29: Pro Surya Prasad Sharma and his team won the Surya Nepal Eastern open Pro-Am at the par-70 Nirvana Country Club Health and Golf Resort in Dharan on Sunday.
Surya and his team of amateurs Ansu Limbu, Subarna Limbu and Pratap Limbu scored 12-under 58 to win the title. The team scored 29 points each on two halves. Likewise, pro Deepak Thapa Magar and amateurs Kaji Rai, Tilak Rai and Ashok Limbu finished second at 59. The team scored 31 on the front nine and added 28 on the back nine.
The team of pro Deo Raj Pakhrin and amateurs Bhuvan Gurung, Ram Tamang and Raj Kumar Rai came third with the score of 60 on count back after they were tied with the team led by pro Ram Thapa. SSP Rajendra Shrestha won the longest drive award, while Bikram Pariyar bagged the closest to the pin award. The tournament was played under stroke play scramble format.

Rabi Khadka of RNGC won the title of the Eastern Open, the fifth event under the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2013-14, with the total score of three-over 283 on Saturday. The Nepal No 2 pro Rabi registered a two-stroke victory over Gokarna Golf Club’s Umesh Nagarkoti, while local pro Suman Rai finished third.